Reno Divorce Timeline

IN THE 1930S IN OTHER STATES, IT WASN’T SO EASY TO GET A DIVORCE. In New York, the waiting period was one or two years and if you charged your spouse with adultery, you had to prove it. In California, the grounds for divorce were a little easier, but the waiting period was still one year. Nevada’s divorce business exploded in 1931 when the State Legislature reduced the residency requirement for a divorce to six weeks anywhere in the state. Divorce seekers from all walks of life — the rich, the poor — came running by the thousands to get “Reno-vated,” a media term coined by Walter Winchell.

 NEVADA DIVORCE TIMELINE

 Year                 Residency Requirement

1871                              6 months

1914                            12 months

1915                              6 months

1927                              3 months

1931                              6 weeks

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s